The Determined Cook

A place where perfection lies in the tasty morsel that finds its way into your mouth.

Weekday Pork Roast Dinner for the Padres

on October 8, 2009

A good pork roast is something that I have been craving for the longest time, so over the weekend, I found a nice pork tenderloin and decided to pick it up, to be used during the week.  Searching online for ways to roast a pork tenderloin, I saw that it was a slow process which started with an oven temperature of 450 degrees and then was followed by about a hour and a half of slow roasting at 250 degrees.  That would be great on a weekend, but I needed my pork roast on a Wednesday evening. So, I defrosted the tenderloin and marinated it for 24 hours.

Marinade (for a 2lb tenderloin)

Patak’s Curry Paste (2 tbsp)
Apple Cider Vinegar (1/4 cup)
Crushed Garlic (2 tsp)
Crushed Ginger (1 tsp)
Salt (1 tsp)
Olive Oil (1 tbsp)
Combine all ingredients in a bowl to make a “liquidy” marinade.  Once mixed, pour over the tenderloin and let it refrigerate for 24 hours.

On Wednesday morning, I started my crockpot on high and put in the tenderloin for about a half hour, turn it twice.  Then I reduced it to 3 and it cooked for 6 hours.  After that it was reduced to 2 until we were ready to eat.  The meat was tender and the tenderloin just fell apart.  There was a great sauce to it that worked as a curry. 


Then, I called the folks over and asked them to make rice and dahl…a perfect accompaniment to the pork roast.


One response to “Weekday Pork Roast Dinner for the Padres

  1. Pam says:

    This sounds good! Perfect for a weekday!

Leave a comment