The Determined Cook

A place where perfection lies in the tasty morsel that finds its way into your mouth.

Bruschetta

on June 1, 2012

When planning appetizers for our Memorial Weekend Party, I decided that I would try to work with a common ingredient – a fresh baguette.  My goal was to create a bruschetta bar where the baguette slice would work as the blank canvas, and art would be created with the various toppings.

I cut the baguette on a diagonal (the night before) and rubbed each slice with crushed garlic.  The baguette slices were then broiled on HIGH for about a minute on each side.  Wafts of toasted garlic and bread spread through the house.  For my toppings, I decided to go simple.  My first topping was a melange of Campari tomatoes (sliced thinly into half circles), chiffonade of mint and basil, lemon zest, red onion finely chopped, GOOD olive oil, a squeeze of lemon juice, salt and pepper.  For a slightly sweeter topping, I whipped a log of goat cheese and paired it with some great Italian fig jam.

My platter presentation was my pride.  Using lemon leaves from my garden and bell pepper pieces left over from another recipe, I decorated a silver serving platter.  The toasted baguettes were nicely nestled on top of the lemon leaves and my depression glass bowls served the toppings.  Not a bad way to turn something so simple into something so elegant.  Bon Apetit!

Golden toasted baguette with a home made tomato-basil spread.

Goat cheese and fig jam bruschetta.

Leave a Reply

