The Determined Cook

A place where perfection lies in the tasty morsel that finds its way into your mouth.

Thursdays with Nigella – Flourless Chocolate Lime Cupcakes

on May 24, 2012

Let me start by saying that I am not a baker…the precision that comes with baking sends me running in the opposite direction.  However, I decided to try what looked like a simple, no-fuss Flourless Chocolate Lime Cake from Nigella Lawson.  I recruited my Maya Rosie as a sous chef and off to work we went.  This is a great recipe for anyone allergic to gluten, but be precise with your dry ingredients as you may have a crumbly mess.  All went well with our cookery until it got to the point where we had to pour the mixture into the spring foam baking pan.  I lifted the filled pan and and chocolate cake batter oozed out the bottom.  I quickly poured everything back into the mixing bowl.

Hmmm…someone has her fingers in the chocolate. See the look of sheer mischief.

I then quickly moved onto Plan B as the kitchen quickly turned into a cooking war zone.  Finding some pretty Ikea cupcake liners, I decided to use them – that way my servings were controlled.  We baked them for about 30 minutes and when the toothpick emerged dry, we pulled them out.

Patiently watching the cupcakes rise…the kitchen had the glorious aroma of warm chocolate and zesty lime.

After letting them cool for a bit, we devoured our individual servings.  The original recipe comes with a Margarita Cream, but having no tequila or cointreau, my style was a bit hampered.

Our version of Nigella’s cake…pretty cupcake in pretty Ikea cupcake holders.

Maya Rosie relished in the chocolate goodness of our efforts and I was left to clean a grand mess.  Thank goodness Daddy stepped in and decided to “help out”.  All in all, it was great fun!

My taste tester…the look on her face is priceless.

Leave a Reply

