The Determined Cook

A place where perfection lies in the tasty morsel that finds its way into your mouth.

Simply Sandwiched

on May 16, 2012

Hello everyone!  Well, I did fall off the wagon in my food blogging.  In fact, I haven’t been cooking for the last couple of days.  My poor little girl has been nibbling of leftovers, snacks, fruit, cheese, greens…not unhealthy, just not home cooked or wholesome.  That said, about a week ago I quickly made a sandwich that combined the tastes I was craving.  Most of the ingredients were in my fridge so I decided to just go for it.

Wheat Bread, smoked salmon, avacado, coarse ground pepper.  The initial idea for this sandwich came from my idol’s blog (In Erika’s Kitchen).  Her sandwich was much more sophisticated and called for pumpernickel bread, herbed goat cheese and the best smoked salmon.  Despite my fast-grabbed ingredients, the sandwich was satisfying.  I sat out in my garden, watched the birds and butterflies chase each other, and gradually let the stress of the day leave my shoulders.

I just bought Nigella Lawson’s Nigella Kitchen, so I promise that there will be some good food coming this way.  Bon Appetit!

Image

Leave a Reply

