The Determined Cook

A place where perfection lies in the tasty morsel that finds its way into your mouth.

Weekend Meal on a Weeknight

on May 10, 2012

The last week was quite hectic at work and at home and dinners have been more of a grab-and-go than a relaxed sit down experience.  My husband even moved our patio set to our luscious back yard so that I could enjoy some respite from my day as I watched my little butterfly play.  We have entertained in our backyard twice, but we have not used it ourselves.  So, yesterday, I decided to make a full dinner in an hour and hope for some down time after.  After visiting my trusty Jon’s market, I decided upon a family pack of breakfast tip steak, russet potatoes, fennel, a can of garbanzo beans and a can of black beans, red onions and mangoes.  My pantry runneth over with a variety of spices, so a quick marinade wouldn’t be a problem.  Here is the menu I came up with.

Grilled Tip Steak

Roasted Potatoes and Fennel

Black Bean and Garbanzo Bean Salad

Pickled Red Onions

I started cooking at 5:00 p.m. and the dishes were in the dishwasher by 7:30 p.m.  We relaxed, talked about our day (between bites and delicious moans) and watched the bats fly about at magic hour.

Leave a Reply

