The Determined Cook

A place where perfection lies in the tasty morsel that finds its way into your mouth.

Easy Chicken Dinner( (for those rush nights)

on September 23, 2009

Strolling through the meat aisle at our local Jon’s market, I set my eyes upon the freshest looking drumsticks.  Never having cooked this part of the chicken before, I was determined to try something new.  When I got home, I raided my recipe archives and found a recipe that Anika had shared with us at our summer party – the one where Anika an Jason’s chicken drumsticks flew off our dining table.  As always, I prepped the chicken the night before and added my own touches.
6 chicken drumsticks (rubbed with salt)
2tsp of Chinese Five Spice
1tsp of Garam Massala
Minute Maid Orangeade (enough to make a spice paste)
Lime Juice
1/2 tsp of crushed ginger
1/2 tsp of crushed garlic
I coated the drumsticks with the spice paste and stored them in a zippy bag, overnight.  For dinner the next night, I spread them on sprayed cookie sheet and put them in a 400deg preheated oven for an hour.  At the half hour mark, I took them out of the oven and basted them with a concoction of sesame oil, ponzu sauce, sweet chili sauce, and a teaspoon of Chinese Five Spice.  We served these up with steamed broccolli, carrots, and cauliflower.

Leave a Reply

